There is a reason why Opera on the Avalon is one of Canada’s fastest-growing companies. From our innovative productions to our partnerships within our communities, we are bringing our audiences experiences that are unique, meaningful and accessible to all.

“The standing ovation the production received was deserved, as was the roaring applause”.

Classical Voice North America

Opera for All

Opera on the Avalon is Atlantic Canada’s only professional opera company and is located in the oldest city in North America.

Season: OOTA presents the best of traditional opera and musical theatre, with engaging and powerful new theatrical productions, that are focused on topics and themes which resonate within our regional and international communities.

Bold Stories: OOTA is committed to asking what stories need to be told. Through our New Commission Series, OOTA is starting a conversation about how we see ourselves and the world around us, and how those stories are reflected on stage.

Exceptional Artists: OOTA has a tradition of discovering and fostering the careers of the next generation of operatic stars. Each year during OOTA’s annual summer festival, we welcome the best and brightest of young artists from all over the world. In keeping with OOTA’s mandate of education through performance, these young artists learn by working alongside established Canadian artists and artisans.

Because it’s 2020: OOTA is dedicated to supporting the work of female theatre artists at all stages of their careers. We empower female artists to reach their full potential through our mentorship programs and gender parity policies. OOTA is committed to promoting and disseminating work by Indigenous, BIPOC, and LGBTQIA2S+ artists. We believe that arts and culture is a vehicle through which we can enrich the Canadian operatic cannon, and redefine our provincial and national identities. In doing this, OOTA is actively working to break away from the stereotypes associated with traditional opera and highlight those who have been historically underrepresented on the stage.

Showcasing “The Rock”: Every year, OOTA audience members include visitors from all over the world. We are one of the regions largest employers of artists and artisans, and we generate over 1.7 million dollars annually in indirect revenue for the Atlantic region.

Critically Acclaimed: OOTA’s productions are frequently critically acclaimed, leading to the company’s winning of the Arts NL BMO Artist of the Year Award in 2017.

Contact Us

Opera on the Avalon
78 O’Leary Avenue
St. John’s, NL, A1B 2C7

Mon-Fri, 8:30am-4:30pm

(709) 738 1322


Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge the land on which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk [bee-oth-uck], whose culture has now been erased forever. We also acknowledge the island of Ktaqmkuk [dah-gmm-gook] (Newfoundland) as the unceded, traditional territory of the Beothuk and the Mi’kmaq [mig-maw]. And we acknowledge Labrador as the traditional and ancestral homelands of the Innu [in-ew] of Nitassinan [ne-tass-eh-nen], the Inuit [in-yoo-eet] of Nunatsiavut [nu-nat-see-ah-vut], and the Inuit of NunatuKavut [nu-nah-tuhk-ah-vut]. We recognize all First Peoples who were here before us, those who live with us now, and the seven generations to come. As First Peoples have done since time immemorial, we strive to be responsible stewards of the land and to respect the cultures, ceremonies, and traditions of all who call it home. As we open our hearts and minds to the past, we commit ourselves to working in a spirit of truth and reconciliation to make a better future for all.

Opera on the Avalon is funded in part by The Government of Canada, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the City of St. John’s, Canada Council for the Arts, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council.

Opera on the Avalon thanks our Generous Sponsors Cahill, Coast 101.1 FM, Cox & Palmer, Fortis, Marco Group, and Gluskin Sheff, Genoa Design International, Toronto Dominion Bank and Travelers.